The title of this post may have made you think something like, “Hey! I can learn to create my own Lenormand deck, all I need to do is roll some dice to generate the images!” If that’s the case, I’m sorry; you won’t be learning how dice might be utilized as a modern art tool to produce your own Lenormand deck. Although if you get some ideas and are inspired to do so, let me know! No, today’s idea is using six-sided dice instead of cards to produce a reading.

Mystical Lenormand: Clover with added die. 100% more green!

Why would anyone want to do that? Perhaps you have access to dice at a time when you’re without cards. Maybe you need to be discreet and can’t lay out cards. No dice either? If you have a smartphone, you can probably get a free dice rolling app. This is what I did for my prior blog post, in order to do my three card reading while commuting to work on the bus.

It’s easy to generate Lenormand cards using one or two 6-sided dice to generate numbers from 1 to 36. Each roll will produce a number that matches a particular Lenormand card. Just keep generating numbers to get the cards you need.

Take a list of the Lenormand cards and divide them into groups of six:

01 Rider
02 Clover
03 Ship
04 House
05 Tree
06 Clouds

07 Snake
08 Coffin
09 Bouquet
10 Scythe
11 Whip
12 Birds

13 Child
14 Fox
15 Bear
16 Stars
17 Stork
18 Dog

19 Tower
20 Park
21 Mountain
22 Crossroads
23 Mice
24 Heart

25 Ring
26 Book
27 Letter
28 Man
29 Lady
30 Lily

31 Sun
32 Moon
33 Key
34 Fish
35 Anchor
36 Cross

Two rolls will generate one card. If using one die you’ll roll it twice. If using two, make sure you distinguish them.

The first die (or roll) will be like an index to the set used. Set 1 starts with Rider; set 2 with Snake; and so on. The second die (or roll) will be the card within that set.

  • If I rolled 2 and 3, then I’d take set 2, the third card: Bouquet.
  • If I rolled 4 and 5, then I’d take set 4, the fifth card: Mice.
  • If I rolled 3 and 5, then I’d take set 3, the fifth card: Storks.

For those who don’t mind a little math, you can use a simple formula to get the same results:
[first die – 1] x 6 + [second die] = Lenormand card number

  • For my 2 and 3: I would take [2 – 1], multiply by 6, and add 3: [2 – 1] x 6 + 3, or 6 + 3 = 9. This is Bouquet.
  • For 4 and 5: [4 – 1] x 6 + 5  =  18 + 5  =  23. This is Mice.
  • For 3 and 5: [3 – 1] x 6 + 5  =  12 + 5  =  17. This is Stork.

This post took a lot of space to type, and for the math-phobic the second part may look scary, but they are both very quick to do.

So there you have it. It’s not something you’re likely to use for the full 36-card spread, but for a short reading in a pinch, this may come in handy.

Do you find this useful? Have you already used this technique? Do you have something similar that you’d like to share? Let us know in the comments!

Regarding Apps: I favor a no-frills app called Dice Bag on my iPhone. I’ve gotten good geomancy readings using it, too.

