It’s been a while since I’ve done an audio post, so I thought I’d do one today. I cover an example of how one might approach a nine card reading, with my thoughts on whether combinations (or pairs) of cards are always read with mathematical precision as it sometimes seems in various teaching materials.

If you’d like to follow along, I list the cards that I am going to use in the recording. You can prepare them by pulling them from your Lenormand deck and having them in order, so that you can lay out the nine cards from left to right, as I describe in the audio post. Please note that my meanings might vary from yours, notably for the Bear; you can temporarily adapt your definitions to follow along.

The first card is 9 Tree:

The last and ninth card will be 32 Moon, so the sequence would be:

(seven face-down cards in between)

 

Finally, the full string of nine cards that you would end up with, as you go through the recording:

5 Tree + 15 Bear + 17 Storks + 34 Fish + 36 Cross + 21 Mountain + 22 Crossroads + 24 Heart + 32 Moon

I tried to keep these images small so they would display in a single line, but it depends on the size of your web browser window, so let me stress that this is a single line of cards that you’ll be arranging (or following along with) from left to right.

Some Notes

This is a technique I haven’t used for a while. I learned it a couple of years ago when I was more heavily into the 36-card “grand tableau” layout. However, in revisiting it, the technique contains the seeds of building a line of Lenormand cards into a story, which is useful for any practice with these cards. I credit Juan Ferrer with this particular technique.

While I think this example would make a cohesive reading for a client, I’m not sure if I succeeded in demonstrating that a Lenormand reading can be organic, rather than a mechanical pairing of each duo of cards. I must reiterate that I’m not saying that pairing is bad; the cards support each other and one card will bring out the good or bad in another, which adds nuance to a reading. Indeed, it is the foundation of good Lenormand technique.

I believe card pairing is a technique that becomes assimilated with experience. The reader flows from one card to the next, building a story while blending or “dignifying” cards as appropriate, relying on a structure that has become unconscious. The end result is a Lenormand reading that follows the techniques and tradition of these cards, and that goes beyond the sometimes mechanistic process of learning their symbolic grammar.

Enjoy!

Jase on Cards 06232012 (mp3, approximately 14min, 53sec; 7.1Meg)

 

