As I was looking through my music collection today, I put on an older album of Sophie Ellis-Bextor, a UK pop artist whose music I’m a fan of. I bought her last album, Make a Scene, via amazon.com in late 2012.

Sophie_Ellis-Bextor_-_Make_a_Scene
“Make a Scene” album cover

It occurred to me that here was a reading opportunity. I wondered if the lovely Ms. Ellis-Bextor had anything new coming up musically, so I whipped out my trusty French Cartomancy Lenormand deck for a five card spread.

frenchcartomancy_22_crossroads frenchcartomancy_31_sun frenchcartomancy_01_rider frenchcartomancy_35_anchor frenchcartomancy_30_lily
Roads, Sun,  Rider, Anchor, Lily

 I asked: what’s in store for Sophie Ellis-Bextor in terms of her music output this year?

The Rider in the center made me think of something impending, given it’s quick timeframe of news on the way. But then it’s followed by the long-term Anchor and the often slow Lily. Could she be announcing a hiatus?

Stepping metaphorically back to view the whole spread, I took in the two cards on the left. Considering them as describing the past or present, it looks like this artist has already made a decision with a positive impact. Could she have done something already? Something that is on its way, as the Rider indicates? In which case, the Anchor would indicate the ship has already landed (again, metaphorically!); and with the Lily, there is nothing more on the way for a while.Having a suspicion that perhaps something had already happened, I looked online. Sure enough, Ms. Ellis-Bextor has a new album titled “Wanderlust,” which appears to have been released earlier this year.

Having a suspicion that perhaps something had already happened, I looked online. Sure enough, Ms. Ellis-Bextor has a new album titled “Wanderlust,” which appears to have been released earlier this year.

Sophie_Wanderlust

“Wanderlust” album cover

What a nifty reading! I honestly wasn’t expecting that outcome. Those Lenormand cards sure can keep me on my toes.

Addendum: as I was thinking about this reading, it occurred to me that Roads + Sun is a nice way to show the idea of wanderlust; where someone is powerfully drawn to traveling, or is happiest when on the road. So while this “literal Lenormand” match of the album title, “Wanderlust,” isn’t something likely to be picked up during a reading, it’s always great fun to recognize after the fact.

Would you have read this differently? Let me know in the comments.

