A few weeks ago, I did a reading about a playing card deck I own, to ask how it would work for me in reading. The deck is the Kosen yaoi poker deck, meaning it has sexy, manga-styled men for the court cards. The pips are in an art deco style. I’ve not used it for anything, and since I’ve been exploring the Playing Card Oracles lately, I wanted to see how that system would apply to a poker deck without the PCO illustrations.

This deck has two Jokers. I wasn’t sure how to treat them, so I thought I’d apply them to make a “changing” card that has both a positive and a negative aspect. Loosely akin to the changing hexagram lines one might get in an i-ching reading.

PCO reading - how will yaoi deck work

6 of Spades: ruins
6 of Diamonds: high tower
7 of Diamonds: Sword of Truth
Ace of Clubs: air; dream moth

Geometry

Right witness: Fortuna Major
Left witness: Carcer
Judge: Amissio

A strong showing (Fortuna Major) doesn’t prove satisfactory (Amissio) and leads to restrictions (Carcer). Not very positive.

The Cards

The most important card in this reading, in my opinion, is the “neck position” or second card down, which is the element air and relates to the question of my ability to provide information from this deck. The 6D indicates a good vantage point, and I think the phrase “telling it like it is” fits.

Interestingly, the 7D is below the 6D, linking together the concept of truth with accuracy, but perhaps in a way that rebounds on the teller (the 7D sword direction would be pointing back at the 6D).

The base card is the Ace of Clubs, which can bring forth dreams and thoughts and ideas. Good things, or too much intellectualism?

The 6S tops the reading, and suggests difficulties; this is the ruins. With the Joker, perhaps it needs to be considered as both positive and negative? In a negative sense, it is of course nothing happening, looking to the past, a dead end. In a more positive sense, this could mean not being hampered by the baggage of the past.

Summary

I noticed much fire and no water: much action and “spirit” but no emotion. Too much energy, untempered by compassion? That fits in with the cards above. Although the geomancy seems more negative, it also fits if I consider that the blunt messages that could come from this deck may not provide a lot of options in the way that the illustrated PCO deck does, leading to a feeling of loss by those I read for (including myself!).

This makes sense to me. At this stage I rely on the PCO illustrations for memory queues, and any illustration may influence interpretation, no matter how subtle. So I may be more inclined to respond to the starkly (despite being art deco) decorated pips to provide stark messages. Which fits in with what many people have said about playing cards giving direct, no-holds-barred readings.

What do you see in these cards, whether you read PCO or another playing card system? Let me know in the comments.

PCO reading - how will yaoi deck work

