In my previous post, I introduced El Gran Tarot de los Tattwas, along with a brief of the tattwa symbols as commonly understood in the West. In this post, I wish to share my first daily reading with this deck, which was done on Wednesday, May 14, 2014.

tattwa_hierophant

I used a variation of the daily spread which you’ve seen me post several times, if you read my blog. Except instead of going clockwise around an “X” shape, I laid the cards to go clockwise around a cross shape.

daily_05142014Daily Reading with Grand Tattwa Tarot; click to see full-sized image

For someone used to the typical illustrated tarot deck, this might seem daunting. “Where are the figures showing the principles of the major arcana? Where are the scenes on the minor arcana?” This is a particularly relevant concern for those who read in the so-called “intuitive*” style in particular, where the norm is free association on images loaded with symbols and depicting action.

On the other hand, it’s a chance to stretch reading boundaries and limitations, many of which are likely self-imposed. I have always preferred a “traditional cartomancy” reading style where the cards are read based on constellations of meanings that are strung together, so this is less of a concern for me. I tend to read my decks interchangeably although in recent years I admit to letting some visual literacy creep in. My initial reading with this deck is primarily based on learnings I already know, although taking note of the colors and tattwas does enhance how the spread “feels” or flows.

In this reading, I immediately note that four out of the five cards are trumps. Rather than associate great import, I wondered if I’d mixed the deck throughly enough for the reading. Thumbing through it, I verified that I had. So having trumps is fair game for analysis. That said, I didn’t feel compelled to emphasize these trumps. It’s common to give them more import, but I don’t often do so, unless intuition says otherwise. And it doesn’t feel right to me in this deck.

The day starts out with the Fool in the center. The central akasha (spirit) is moving to the first stage of expansion with the globe of vayu (air). All four elemental tattwas radiate from this center. This nicely ties into my first use of this deck to do a reading and see what I can glean.

Next is the Hierophant on the right; inspiration grounded in tradition or the past. It was a work day, and one current project this week needs more of my learning and guidance than I might normally be presenting. I was also concerned about my contributions to this project and how I’d come across.

The Wheel of Fortune: what goes up must come down, and vice versa. I like the way the tattwas are able to convey this cyclic change in an abstract fashion. The larger globe is vayu (air) above, with the watery crescent of apas below. The color red is related to fiery tejas, and shows the expansive princple in the background of change happening. I suppose this shows things moving as they will, and that they won’t stay static. I find this true often at work.

The next card around the circle is Judgement. I’m not crazy about this depiction because it reminds me of a big, shiny beetle. This is the tattwa of akaska taking center stage, with a smaller pyramid of tejas emerging. Expansion or growth comes from the greater reality of spirit, or the universe.  Following along from the Wheel I’d expect more change. I don’t recall anything in particular. I do have a sick pet who was scheduled for upcoming anesthetic procedure to do some exploring of her conditions, and that was very much in mind, so this card seems to relate to my concerns and thoughts about her health.

The final card is the 10 of Coins. This card shows the earth tattwa prithivi, arranged in a Tree of Life patterns, with interconnected energies playing around the whole thing. A culmination as well as a reminder that life is vibrant. It is a good omen in the material world. Not having taken notes of the day in question, I can’t remember anything out of the ordinary, other than slight improvement of the sick pet’s symptoms.

In all, Wednesday doesn’t stand out to me for any particular circumstance. It was a busy day in the middle of a busy week, with underlying concerns about one of my pets. The cards show what I might expect in the flow of a typical day. The Fool and Hierophant show some cooler and vibrant energies, leading to some more expansive (red) energies. That fits well given more activity and mental agitiation in the afternoon, followed by a reasonably calm completeness at the end of the day. Interestingly, there is a lot of blue and purple and the weather was rather stormy, with blue-to-grayish skies that could arguably relate in terms of color.

I think this a nice look at this deck and how it might flow in practice. Feel free to share your own thoughts and opinions about these cards or tattwas in the comments.

 

* All tarot reading is intuitive, otherwise we could let our computers and smartphones do it mechanically and not be bothered to learn our cartomantic crafts. So I’m not fond of the label “intuitive” for the style of free association with contents of images. But it is commonly used, so I referenced it here.

