Today was my first reading to test drive my new Card Deck of the Sidhe. As I am not familiar with these oracle cards, I decided a two-card reading would be appropriate. Besides sharing this short reading, I will talk about my initial impressions of this oracle deck meant to connect with the “people of peace.”

I wanted to know: What would the outcome be for me, if I had a particular discussion at work today?

sidhe-cards-first-reading

These are peaceful looking cards. The first card is one of the standing stones in this deck, and it signifies people and relationships. The second is about wisdom, particularly inner wisdom, and healing. What I got from these was that talking about the annoyances I was experiencing due to a co-worker would bring about healing, perhaps by revealing a way to better deal with the situation.

As it happens, the person I wanted to talk to wasn’t in the office today, so I wasn’t able to pursue the discussion.

As for the deck itself, it’s a thirty-three card deck conceptualized by David Spangler and illustrated by Jeremy Berg. It was designed as a bridge between the person who works with the deck, and the creators’ conception of the Sidhe, or “Faerie folk.” Yes, those Sidhe. I had come across it on amazon.com, and found the concept plus art style intriguing. Over the last year, I’ve become rather interested in oracle decks with cohesive systems, and I like to see how creators have structured their decks and the virtual worlds represented therein; and how the divination methods work. So this deck piqued my interest in that sense as well.

The deck has its own cosmology. Overall it is divided into Stones and Dancers, with sixteen of the latter. And that is where I find the biggest hurdle: there seem to be too many darn standing stone cards! Sure, they all have unique appearances and personalities (my favorite is The Wizard), and I’m sure familiarity comes with time, as with any deck.

But here at the outset, I find it a bit tedious to think about Stones, their quadrants (which don’t start east and go south in a clockwise fashion) and wonder about their names. Still they are an important part of the deck, providing a foundation for the Dancer cards, which more properly represent the Sidhe and are the mutable (as in astrology) aspects moving among the solid foundation of the Stones. In this reading, the stone is a Stone card and the Stag is a Dancer card.

And that’s as far as I’ve gotten, so while I could say more, I’m sure I’d get something wrong. The book is 178 pages. It starts with a story that can help to impress the basic meaning, or “feel,” of the cards. It talks about the author’s experience with the Sidhe, and how the deck came to exist. The cards get a fairly thorough examination, of course. Their use for meditation, storytelling and oracular readings is described. It’s a fairly thorough book, and makes clear how the author came to develop this particular oracle and its system. The book is solid, and if a person is drawn to the deck, then they will get what they need from this book to work with it.

Despite my complaint about the Stones, I don’t mean to imply that I dislike them, or that they make for a “bad” deck. It’s just a bit different. Interestingly there are no people in the deck; apparently the Sidhe didn’t want themselves depicted so as not to limit how they are conceived, and especially not to be put into a medieval court as they are often depicted! The deck isn’t going to be for everyone, and unless used as a generic oracle, seems like it would take time to get to know on its own terms. The art is colorful though, and I liked the style. This seems like a deck geared towards oracular use as in finding one’s path, rather than fortune-telling; but I’m sure it can be adapted to such, as with most decks.

Have you seen this deck? Do you own it? Let me know in the comments.

