It’s a snow-filled Valentine’s Day, so it’s time for a relationship reading. A deck relationship, that is! My other half is at work for the afternoon, so I spent some time getting to know my recently purchased The Faeries’ Oracle. The artist is Brian Froud, and the excellent companion book is authored by Jessica MacBeth. (Coincidentally, last night we watched The Dark Crystalan 80’s movie whose look was conceptualized by Brian Froud.)

I asked: “How can I best work with this oracle?”

Reading_20150214

The Master Maker — Honesty — Death
(click for larger image)

Here is a tip: make sure when you record your readings, that you get the question written down correctly. Sometimes I forget the exact question phrasing between preparing for a reading and interpreting the cards. And the specific question is very important, as far as I’m concerned, especially if you want to get a good and accurate answer! (In this case, accurate means relative to the question at hand and hopefully attuned to the reading subject.)

I used a three card spread whose positions are positive, negative and synthesis. The top right card is the positive aspect or what’s present, and is Death. The top left card is the negative aspect, what’s missing or should be left out; here it’s The Master Maker. The synthesis is a final answer, summary or mix of the other two, and in this reading is Honesty.

Death is not a card people usually think of as positive, in any kind of deck. As a positive aspect, I interpreted her as learning to read a bit differently than my usual style; and also getting at the form underneath the surface of the faeries’ in this oracle. Most of my reading is “cartomantic” in nature, where I rely on my core card meanings, as with older playing card methods or the Lenormand. In this deck, I need to treat each card as a character or entity in its own right, and look for more intuitive messages. Well, I don’t have to, but that is the intention of the deck and what Death means to me here.

The negative card is The Master Maker. I don’t have a good feel for this card, mainly because it’s titled “The Master Maker,” but the Maker himself doesn’t appear to be making or creating anything, as I’d expect. In this case, I believe the message relates to what I said for Death by focusing on what should be left behind: my definitions, which are predefined, “made” approaches to reading. This will me get the most out of The Faeries’ Oracle.

And last but not least is Honesty. Every time I see this card, it reminds me of Greedo from the original Star Wars movie. (That’s Episode IV: A New Hope to fans.) A reminder that I prefer to ignore, because I don’t want to always think of the debate on who shot first…. but I digress.

I believe Honesty says quite plainly that if I go into the cards as described above, then I will get honest answers to my questions. What more could a person ask for from an oracle deck? It’s a very nice synthesis of the positive (getting beyond the surface images and my usual reading methods) and the negative (letting go of ready-made keywords or definitions).

Do you like (or dislike) the Faeries’ Oracle? What do you see from these faeries? Let me know in the comments.

