Yesterday, I received a special deck in the mail: my charming Pixie’s Lenormand deck. This handcrafted (yet professionally printed) deck has as its original concept that it was created by Pamela Coleman Smith, hidden within the Rider-Waite-Smith tarot deck.

I thought it would be fun to share the process of opening the package, due to the care put into creating it.


The shipping label, minus addresses. My name and address were handwritten in a script that could have been Pixie’s.

Nicely wrapped.

That’s the deck on the right. Very well packaged for safe shipping!

Note the de Laurance Company name, and the old-fashioned writeup of the cards. This wrap was akin to newspaper; the kind of thing that fit the period. This was around the deck itself. I found it very charming.

Heck, everything about this deck was charming.

More of the old-fashioned deck wrapper.

Last of the deck wrapper. I promise! Look at that ouija board, added for flavor.

And, finally, the box for the deck itself.

There you have it, folks, my unboxing of the Pixie Lenormand. Given the care that was put into this package by its creator, I felt it was worth sharing this experience. (Being short on time when opening, I used my iPhone camera, so pardon if the pics are dark.)

I look forward to using this deck. Sadly, my busy schedule didn’t let me do more than open it last night. Hopefully I will have time to work with it today.